For free help with your job search, call (800) 776-8383.

Mercyhealth Wisconsin

Mercyhealth Wisconsin Logo

In January 2015, Mercy Health System (Janesville, WI) and Rockford Health System (Rockford, IL) merged to create a multi-regional, integrated health system comprising five hospitals, more than 860 physicians, over 80 outpatient clinics and other service sites that provide care to residents in more than 60 communities throughout northern Illinois and southern Wisconsin. We provide over 75 specialty and sub-specialty services, including neurosurgery, heart and vascular care, cancer care, plastic and reconstructive surgery, da Vinci robotic surgery and much more.

Founded within months of each other in 1883, each system brought a long and proud tradition of excellence and community service to the merger. Over the last 25 years, Mercy Health System grew from a stand-alone community hospital with no employed physicians into a comprehensive, vertically integrated health system offering an extensive network of primary and specialty care physicians, three hospitals (Mercy Hospital and Trauma Center, Mercy Walworth Hospital and Trauma Center and Mercy Harvard Hospital), subspecialty centers of excellence, insurance products, long-term care, retail services, home health and hospice, and preventive health and wellness programs. Mercy was the first and only vertically integrated health care system in the U.S. to receive the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, the nation’s highest presidential honor for quality and organizational excellence and Magnet® recognition, the gold standard of nursing excellence.

At the time of the merger, Rockford Health System was the largest and most comprehensive health system serving northwestern Illinois and southern Wisconsin, providing over one million patient encounters a year through Rockford Memorial Hospital, Rockford Health Physicians, the Visiting Nurses Association and Van Matre HealthSouth Rehabilitation Hospital. As one of the few State of Illinois-designated perinatal referral centers, Rockford Memorial Hospital receives patients from an 11-county region for high-risk maternity, neonatal intensive care, pediatrics and pediatric critical care, adult critical care, and trauma. Rockford Memorial Hospital is also distinguished by its numerous quality award recognitions, including being a six-time recipient of the HealthGrades Patient Safety Excellence Award and having been named to the U.S. News & World Report list of “Best Regional Hospitals” for four consecutive years.

In November 2015, we were given approval to build a specialty referral hospital at Riverside Blvd. and I-90 in Rockford. This campus will feature a women’s and children’s hospital with neonatal and pediatric intensive care, pediatric emergency services and high risk maternity care. It will also offer 188 private medical/surgical, ICU, pediatrics and obstetrics rooms, a level 1 trauma center, operating suites, comprehensive diagnostic services, a variety of specialty care services, and comprehensive heart services. Groundbreaking is expected to take place in 2016, with completion slated for 2019.

Our visionary leadership and commitment to continually adding strong clinical programs provide growth potential for our partners and our organization. We hope you will join us on our exciting journey to improving the health and well-being of the region.


  • Video
  • Slideshow