St. Joseph Martin
Martin began as a coal mining town in the early twentieth century known as Bucks Branch. Later, in 1913, the name was changed to Smalley after Smalley Crisp, a local landowner. Finally, the town’s name was changed for the last time in 1926 to Martin after the postmaster, Martin Van Allen. Martin is home to The Piarist School, a small non-public high school, and Mountain Christian Academy, a non-public elementary school. Also, in the fall Martin residents and visitors can enjoy the Red, White, and Blue Days Celebration. Martin is a city of education, friends, and fun.